RSS

Platinum 96.7 Revisited

17 Mar

The one article written on this blog with the most comments is about Platinum 96.7 the Citadel oldies station in Dallas.

I wasn’t very kind toward the station.  In fact said it would be DOA.

Arbitron is tracking them in the 3 share range so my original prediction was incorrect.

How long the numbers hold is still out to the jury.

I must admit Platinum has some good qualities.  The music is familiar and generally sing-able.   It is well mixed and produced for the type of station it is.

Platinum is a station that nobody likes except the listeners.

I made a point to listen again during a trip to Dallas last weekend.

The big push was for Debbie Diaz who joined in afternoon drive.  There were no jocks on during my monitor.  Having heard her work, I’m sure she is a nice addition.

Ron Chapman has a presence too doing testimonial type commercials.

Chapman’s spirit runs through the station.

Platinum will never be my favorite oldies station.  Not because of anything they’ve done wrong,  but because it’s just not my kind of station.

The point of the original posting asked why radio as an industry always returns to the same ‘well’ when creating new station formats.

There is tons of fresh music released weekly.  As an industry we  fall into the same pattern of AC, Oldies, Country, Rock, etc. without looking for something fresh.

Citadel’s choice of soft oldies isn’t the only predictable type of format we’ve heard in recent times.

CBS’s ‘Now’ Fm comes off as just another CHR in a long line of similar launches.

Nova 96.9 Sydney was the last really innovative CHR launched around 2001.  They still sound fresh today.

Looking back on my own launches there have been plenty of copy cat things we did to get the stations on air.   I’d like to have a few of those 10,000 in a row back to do again.

Radio needs some different thinking.

Perhaps in this time of economic uncertainty the ‘tried and true’ stuff is right.

Radio will need formats that go beyond playing from the Whitburns and Mediabase if it has a hope of remaining viable.

Today it’s nice to see anyone have success. even if I don’t personally like the station.

So Platinum take it through the 3’s and beyond.  The industry needs some good stories right now.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Platinum 96.7 Revisited

  1. Jay Phillips

    March 19, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Alan, I realize the ABC station in Dallas isn’t your forte, but who was the station’s target? (I would bet it wasn’t a 50+ male!) Did it achieve the objective target, I’m curious? With the shares you report, there are a lot of bodies who apparently have found it to be a station they listen to! The bottom line is they set out to do it, they apparently are achieving success with it, whether you like it or not! I’ll bet it tickles the shit out of them!

     
  2. Tim Lodge

    March 29, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Alan,
    Love your blog, but Platinum currently ranks 23rd 25-54 and is going down. a 12+ number in PPM is not the same as it was in diary. Platinum is a favorite among older radio professionals who pine for “the good old days of KVIL” and therefore gets a lot of comments on blogs. You are right, radio needs good stories. Unfortunately, Platinum will not be one of them. The shame of it is, it could have been.
    Tim

     
  3. sue

    May 12, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    I have just moved to Platinum from KLUV because I love to hear the music I grew up on. You guys need to leave things alone. Most of the stations have music you can’t understand the words to or the music is so loud you don’t even know if there are words. I hope you leave it alone.

     
  4. Diane Ketcheson-Fox

    May 16, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I left KLUV after being a faithful listener for as long as I have lived in North TX. Please, and I am begging you, do not change a thing with this station! It is what I have been screaming for for over 20 years! The music is there, so much good stuff that you wouldn’t have to repeat a song for DAYS! The smiles you have brought across my face and the fact that I have started listening to the radio again in my car speaks volumes for your station! To hell with the so called “pros” who know what people really want to hear…..listen to your listeners! Please don’t fall into the rut that KLUV, KVIL and so many other stations have done! Thanks for letting me vent! Keep on doing what you are doing, I love it!

     
  5. Karen

    May 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I just found this station and I’ll bet there are still lots of people out there who haven’t found it yet, BUT THEY WILL. I can’t stand Jody in the mornings, but loved the music. They are playing disco now, which isn’t my fav so with Platinum, I can listen to the music I like and not have to put up with Jody’s arrogance in the morning. Great station.

     

Leave a Reply

 
