RSS

Platinum 96.7 Dallas

13 Jul

We visited our son in Dallas yesterday and heard Citadel’s new station Platinum 96.7.

This launch was much anticipated in the market.

It sounds DOA to me.

Platinum can best be called a soft oldies station.

It plays a steady dose of slow tempo songs from 60s and 70s. The overplayed kind like Carpenters.

It feels a little like the old KVIL, probably because Ron Chapman is the voice. Much of the music played was popular when KVIL dominiated Dallas ratings.

KVIL was a powerhouse a long time ago. Dallas is not the same town now.

I don’t know who Anne Murray appeals to today. Certainly no one under 55.

Platinum sounds like a radio station created as a ‘radio format’, not as a format for listeners.

Liners like “we’re heard in boutiques, offices and Ors, sounds so much like radio it becomes silly.

Why not “No Funk, No Punk, No Elevator Junk”?

It’s the same thought process.

My day job is head of content for DMX.

Our company creates music, video and message branding for retailers.

I used to think the world of music revolved around Billboard and Radio And Records charts. It doesn’t for ‘real people’. You know the kind, the ones you see on the street everyday.

There is so much interesting music available that I am baffled as to why radio plays the same tired, dated stuff.

Platinum 96.7 has little chance of being a key player 25-54 or in any other age group.

When will someone stop, pay attention to the audience and build something interesting?

That station will be created by someone who comes from outside of radio.

Radio people know too much about radio.

Put the Whitburn books down, get out from behind the computer go find out about people again.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2008 in Radio programming

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Platinum 96.7 Dallas

  1. mimiboys

    July 22, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I love 96.7. I am fond of Anne Murray and I am under 55. I love all kinds of music and that is what I found on 96.7. Why do people from out of the area come in and tell us what we might enjoy?? It is more refreshing than KLUV. They can only play off a prescripted playlist. We called in a request and was told that it wasn’t on the list at KLUV. The only beef with 96.7 is that I called and ask to hear Rise by Herb Alpert and she said okay and I have yet to hear it. If you don’t like the music go back to KLUV.

     
  2. Ron

    August 4, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Spot on!!

     
  3. mickeyrexster

    August 5, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I have never posted to a Blog before, but this one deserves a comment. In spite of what you hear — there are still a lot of people OVER 50 who listen to the radio. We don’t want to hear the new stuff, the music for ‘real people’ as you put it.

    We spend our share (and more) of money on the products being advertised so why can’t we have a station where our kind of music is being played? When did we become second-class citizens because we don’t fit into some analyst’s idea of the popular demographic?

    There are plenty of stations playing the ‘other’ kind of music so leave us alone and let us have our quiet, soft oldies. Let us sing along with the Carpenters and reminisce about the good old days. At least we’ve lived long enough to have a past. If you don’t like the music on Platinum, then go listen to the popular stations and stop bad-mouthing ours.

     
  4. Albert

    August 8, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I just read Alan Furst’s rant. I am left shaking my head in disbelief. He couldn’t possibly be any more negative! Sheesh! I think Platinum sounds great!!! I’m a 46 year old male who hasn’t heard most of this music in years. Talk about someone too close to the forest… that would be YOU, Mr. Furst.

     
  5. Greece

    August 13, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Just love Platinum 96.7. As mimiboys said, it is more refreshing than KLUV, and it is not as repetitive. I am a 49 year old female and I love hearing them play Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin which were before my time. We definitely needed a station that plays their genre as well. I was tired of all the Dallas area radio stations which lacked certain formats, including soft rock. I am so glad I found this station. Keep up the good work 96.7!

     
  6. cawilma

    August 15, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Great Station!! I thought that was Ron Chapman’s voice I heard. Mr. Furst, I have no doubts that Ron was trying to appeal to the “BIG baby boomer” generation, since we are the largest. You are correct, 25yrs olds probably won’t be listening. They don’t listen to radio anymore anyway. They download songs into IPODS or MP3’s or are glued to their cell phones. I’m sure Ron Chapman is not worried about that small group of X &Y generation of kids. ROCK ON RON. Glad to hear your voice on the radio again.

     
  7. Leisl

    August 27, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I too am under 55 and love this station! There are several stations out there with different formats for a reason. If this isn’t the format you are looking for, happy hunting. I am glad I found a station that I enjoy and I hope others do too. I don’t force people to listen to what I like, and I don’t want to be forced to listen to what others like.

    Mr. Furst – when is the last time you listened to one station for more than 3 hours? Talk about tired songs – you will hear the same ones over and over. How is that interesting?

    Platinum is like putting on your favorite robe and slippers – you can just be comfortable with it.

    By the way, I DO find this music interesting and I am a real person, thank you very much!

     
  8. Lisa

    September 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I think the radio station is awesome……as long as they don’t pack it full of Barry Manilow and the Supremes as Ron Chapman did on KLUV!!!

     
  9. Barb

    September 9, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    I have died and gone to heaven!!! Radio is really alive and well in the Metroplex! When I heard that oh so familiar voice, ie Ron Chapman…I knew I had found the right station!! Great format–the songs bring back many fond memories.

     
  10. Art Bitron

    October 4, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Well, the bad news is the station has a 1 share and losing ground. Good new though as all 6 listeners are now databased right here.

    Alan’s read could not be more spot on. Have to say, we really expected more from Chapman. But, can anyone remember Citadel’s last sucessfll launch of a station. It would be…????

     
  11. Larry

    October 19, 2008 at 2:24 am

    as a 50 yr old male, I can say without hesitation that this is the best station I’ve listened to since I was 16. Mr. Furst , you have been in the same industry too long. you’re jaded. try switching careers

     
  12. alanfurst

    October 19, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    As a 53 year old male I still think it’s for old ladies. Dallas must think so too based on the ratings. Enjoy it while you can, doubtful it will be around long.

     
  13. alex

    November 18, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I love platinum its the music that filled my house growing up and I’m just 40. I listen to it in my car and at the office and many of our patients have started tuning in. Its nice to listen to upbeat fun music. By the way I live in south OK.

     
  14. Gija

    November 22, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I am 56 and live in Dallas. It is astounding that a city this size doesn’t have one good station. I had been listening to 88.5, 89.3 or 770AM to hear some variety but they still tend to have a fairly limited play list. A friend turned me on to your station about a month ago and I am throughly enjoying it. Very nostalgic. It’s like being in Jr. High School and listening to the radio after school.

    I would like to make some recommendations. I only hear the same 2 Cat Stevens and Carly Simon, Paul Simon, James Taylor songs. They have so many good ones. You’re doing a great job, but how about digging a little deeper into the “deep cuts” of your artists selections? More Movie Themes would be nice too.

    Here are a few of my personal favorites:

    The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance – Gene Pitney
    Tammy – Debbie Reynolds?
    Hush Hush Sweet Charlot (I think you already do this one?)
    Cat Ballou – Nat King Cole

    More varied Motown. There were so many great artists besides The Supremes.
    More British Invasion groups

    Thanks! I hope your station stays around for a long time.

     
  15. Mary

    January 1, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    My husband and I were recently coming home to St Louis from Dallas and happened on your station. I must say, the music was just what we like, wish we could find something here like it. Anyway, wanted you to know we thoroughly enjoyed your station and were sorry when we lost signal.
    Mary Nice

     
  16. David

    January 4, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Great station. Ron Chapman is a trip! Hope 2009 shows even more selections by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, Olivia Newton-John, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Louis Armstrong etc. Love your format. 96.7 is SO much better than K-Lost 98.7. Also hope 96.7 continues to take feedback from their listeners seriously as few other stations do. As for Mr. Furst, it’s obvious that he has no appreciation for good music but is rather a journalist who enjoys the slandering approach to his articles. If he thinks there’s no appreciation for Anne Murray, perhaps it’s because “the real world” today is exposed to the synthisized, vocalizer laden, non-melodic violence inciting crap that the stations he seems to endorse are ramming down the younger generation’s ears. I’m under 50 and truly love 96.7 and if the younger generation doesn’t it’s because there aren’t enough stations like it playing “real” music for the young folks to grab on to it. Rock on Ron Chapman and don’t be swayed by idiots like Mr. Furst.

     
  17. David

    January 4, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    To Mary Nice,
    You can listen to 96.7 on your computer at http://www.platinum967.com.

     
  18. Roxanne

    January 30, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I have only recently found this station. While not a big fan of Chapman’s personally, he does seem to know his business. As far as Dallas is concerned, he also seems to know that there are listeners who wants to hear what he’s offering up. Not everyone likes McDonald’s either, but they just keep putting them up, don’t they? If you build it they will come. Ron built it and Dallas showed up. The ones that wanted to anyway. Word will spread and roots will grow. It’s a pretty good place for so many of us who had become “station flippers” looking for “something” good to listen to.

     
  19. Liz

    March 1, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Love Platinum 96.7 !!!! Best station I have listened to for years. Liked KLUV but prefer 96.7.
    Be baffled no more, there are many, many more like myself who love hearing the old, wonderful music of the 60’s and 70’s and even 50’s and before that .

     
  20. Aimee'

    March 1, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Greetings!

    This is my first blog, and I’m big fan of 96.7. I’m 31 and love all fimiliar old KVIL favorites. My parents listened to a lot of this music when I was growing up. At 17, I swore to NEVER listen to this kind of “Lite Rock”-at that time-again.

    Yet, here I am with this first blog, voicing my opinion in support 96.7. Mr. Furst is correct that Dallas today is different than Dallas 25 years ago. “The world done gone and got itself in a big hurry”-Shawshank. No one slows down anymore and takes it all in. Everything is fast-paced. I listen to this station because it relaxes me.

     
  21. Philip C Walker

    March 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I like that station. Even though it doesn’t play all of the music I like, it is quite refreshing. I’m 32 years old and I’ve been listening to tunes like this all of my life.

    Mr. Furst, you could be right about one thing. It probably won’t last long, unless it can make money doing it. Putting the format on a decent signal probably won’t help much. Well, the signal is actually pretty good, but the transmitter is located to far north of the Metroplex for it to be received in the southern portions.

    If a format can get more people to listen to radio than before, then I consider it a success. Radio is suppose to serve the public, not the shareholders of the company that owns it.

     
  22. Rob Parker

    March 16, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Well, There seems to be a bit of a mistake. I just checked arbitron and it seems Platinum had a 1.2 share in December of 2008 and it went up to a 3.1 share in January 2009. That would place it as number 11th. in the market. Placing it above Jack FM, The Eagle, the Edge. Seems like the younger generation and those looking at demographics should learn Baby Boomers are still the largest segment of the market and shouldn’t be ignored. Ron Chapman gets it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
