RSS

“Big Ron, On The Voice Of Labor!”

27 Apr

Another of the really great jock talents passed this weekend when WOGL’s Ron O’Brien died suddenly from pneumonia.

“Big Ron” was a night-time killer on WCFL Chicago during the early 70s.

In those days we’d tune in at the top of the hour just to hear him do the legal ID.

He generated a certain kind of excitement by doing the liner……”9 O’Clock at the Voice Of Labor, Big Ron In The Night-Time”, followed by the Jingle…”WCFL, Chicago”.

Ron worked on several stations over the years including WFIL, WQXI and KIIS Los Angeles. He adapted to the changes the top 40 format went through over the years, always sounding great.

In recent years it was fun to visit Philly and hear his energy on WOGL.

For years whenever I have needed inspiration, I would always bring out the WCFL airchecks and listen to the IDs done by Big Ron O’Brien.

One of the greats. He’ll be missed.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 27, 2008 in Radio programming

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to ““Big Ron, On The Voice Of Labor!”

  1. Steve Walker

    April 30, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    First,,, Alan, I remember when we all worked together kicking off an oldies station in West Columbia, SC.. Magic 103. Brent Johnson and Barry Brown, were part of the gang.. Big Ron O’Brien,, I remember one night he was playing a Stones song over and over again,, Brown Sugar I think, and it was for a Charity Ball,, and he got the greatest kick out of saying Ball on the air that night, it was like he was being naughty. God I used to wake up an hour early so I could hear Fred Winston sign on, on Monday morning while it was dark.. We’re all just crazy radio folks.. My wife of 35 years and I are buying our final house and she is letting me have a room for myself and my radio stuff, she even wants to help me decorate it,, My own little shrine,, that could be disgusting, but only if I play old airchecks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
